Former Hockey Captain Ajitpal Singh to head Dronacharya Award Selection Committee

  • i. Three-time Olympian and former Hockey Captain Ajitpal Singh was selected as the Chairman of the Dronacharya Award Selection Committee on 7 August 2014.
  • ii. The committee will have 15 members, including 12 eminent sportspersons and three officials. The three officials — Director General of the Sports Authority of India and a joint secretary and deputy secretary from the ministry — will also be in the committee.
  • iii. The Dronacharya award is scheduled to be presented on 29 August 2014 (National Sports Day). The Committee will recommend the deserving sportspersons for the prestigious awards and a final decision vests with Union Sports Minister Sarbanand Sonowal.
  • iv. In 2013, the Dronacharya Award Selection Committee was headed by Mountaineer HPS Ahluwalia.

Note: Dronacharya Award instituted in 1985 by Government of India recognizes excellence in sports coaching. The award comprises a bronze statuette of Dronacharya, a scroll of honour and a cash component of 500000 rupees.


CLAT  Gurukul, a kowledge sharing initiative of The Knowledge Tree is a Law Entrance Portal which provides information about  CLAT and other Law entrance related exams.