United Nations

United Nations


Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday left for the U.S. during which he will address the 69th session of the UN General Assembly (UNGA), hold talks with President Barack Obama and meet top American corporate leaders besides a series of other engagements.


About United Nations:

The United Nations (UN) is an intergovernmental organization established on 24 October 1945 to promote international co-operation.

A replacement for the ineffective League of Nations, the organization was created following the Second World War to prevent another such conflict.

At its founding, the UN had 51 member states; there are now 193.

The UN Headquarters is situated in Manhattan, New York City and enjoys extraterritoriality.

Further main offices are situated in Geneva, Nairobi and Vienna.

The organization is financed by assessed and voluntary contributions from its member states. Its objectives include maintaining international peace and security, promoting human rights, fostering social and economic development, protecting the environment, and providing humanitarian aid in cases of famine, natural disaster, and armed conflict.


The UN has six principal organs:

  • The General Assembly (the main deliberative assembly);
  • The Security Council (for deciding certain resolutions for peace and security);
  • The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) (for promoting international economic and social co-operation and development);
  • The Secretariat (for providing studies, information, and facilities needed by the UN);
  • The International Court of Justice (the primary judicial organ);
  • The United Nations Trusteeship Council (inactive since 1994)


UN System agencies include:

  • The World Bank Group- The World Bank is a United Nations international financial institution that provides loans to developing countries for capital programs. The World Bank is a component of the World Bank Group, and a member of the United Nations Development Group. The World Bank’s official goal is the reduction of poverty


  •  The World Health Organization-The World Health Organization (WHO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations (UN) that is concerned with international public health. It was established on 7 April 1948, headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland. WHO is a member of the United Nations Development Group


  • The World Food Programme-The World Food Programme is the food assistance branch of the United Nations and the world’s largest humanitarian organization addressing hunger and promoting food security.On average, the WFP provides food to 90 million people per year, of whom 58 million are children.From its headquarters in Rome and more than 80 country offices around the world, the WFP works to help people who are unable to produce or obtain enough food for themselves and their families. It is a member of the United Nations Development Group and part of its Executive Committee.


  • UNESCO-The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization is a specialized agency of the United Nations (UN).Its purpose is to contribute to peace and security by promoting international collaboration through education, science, and culture in order to further universal respect for justice, the rule of law, and human rights along with fundamental freedom proclaimed in the United Nations Charter.It is the heir of the League of Nations’ International Committee on Intellectual Cooperation.

UNESCO has 195 member states and nine associate members.


  • UNICEF-The United Nations Children’s Fund is a United Nations Program headquartered in New York City that provides long-term humanitarian and developmental assistance to children and mothers in developing countries. It is one of the members of the United Nations Development Group and its Executive Committee.



For more updates on topics asked in CLAT , keep visiting CLAT Gurukul, which is a knowledge sharing initiative of The Knowledge Tree, Patna’s premier coaching institute for CLAT and for other law entrance exams like AILET, SET, LSAT etc.